bmusing











{September 5, 2011}   P’s Best. Day. Ever.

Yesterday Persephone, RouxBarb and I went to Karin Slaughter‘s author talk at the Decatur Book Festival. It was awesome. She talked about her Save the Libraries Project, her book series, growing up in Georgia and life as a writer. As always, she was hysterical. After the talk she had a brief book signing and even consented to sign my Kindle.

You guys already know from previous posts that I am a HUGE Karin Slaughter fan, as is Persephone. If you haven’t read her yet, DO IT. For serious. You won’t regret it. In addition to being a captivating murder mystery/thriller writer, she’s also just about the coolest person I’ve ever met. She’s smart, funny, caring AND she has her very own 5 foot tall metal chicken. That’s right. SHE HAS HER OWN CHICKEN!!! Not only that, but she had it before The Bloggess and her Beyonce made having chickens cool.

We had a brief chat at the book signing, during which I was a complete bumbling idiot. I think I may have damaged my quest to be her new BFF. In my line of work I meet quite a few celebrities and have learned to take it in stride, but not yesterday. I was in total sweating-bullets-nervous-fan mode aka bumbling idiot. She was still super cool to us, though.

So, thank you, Karin Slaugher — for writing your books, for your support of libraries, for being such an engaging speaker, and for being such a cool human being. You made our days!

rouxbarb says:

You were SO NOT a bumbling idiot. And totally not a bumbling idiot with an ENTIRE SUITCASE full of books.



fairbetty says:

@Rouxbarb There’s one in every crowd…

@Bethy, you’re adorable. loving the adventures of Persephone 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
