bmusing











{August 15, 2011}   Introducing The Adventures of Persephone: Queen of the Cutting Chickens

A couple of weeks ago, on this blog, I introduced you to my new chicken, Persephone. What none of us knew then was exactly how obsessed with her one might become. And by one, of course, I mean me.

Let’s back this up a few steps. You all know that I think chickens are assholes. Well, it turns out that only LIVE chickens are assholes. Dead or fake chickens are actually quite fun. Earlier this summer I participated in a photo shoot with the most amazing Marc Turnley (NSFW link, btw). Marc is this awesome photographer that I know. He really knows how to make a girl feel so comfortable that she can really and truly be herself — even if herself is slightly (ok a lot) strange. Well, it just so happened that there was a taxidermy chicken around that night and we had a lot of fun with it. The resulting photos are amazing, but I’m not quite ready to share them.

Now let’s segue to my discovery of The Bloggess and her five foot tall metal chicken Beyonce. I have never laughed/cried/snorted so hard in my life. And then there was the magical moment when I first laid eyes on Persephone. She called to me and I knew I had to have her.

Since then, Persephone (who has her very own knife and a rockin’ personality) has been very active. She’s watched (and snarked on Facebook about) Project Runway with some of my college friends:

And now she has accompanied G and I on vacation! Here are a selection of photos from Persephone’s beach vacation so far:

Packing a few books for the beach.

Seatbelted in and ready to roll!

Having some boiled peanuts from a roadside stand in Dothan, Alabama.

Checking out the Florida welcome center.

All unpacked and ready to party!

Hogging the Cheetos after a long night (brr that air conditioning is cold.

Still on Persephone’s to-do list are a day at the beach and dancing on the bar at Coyote Ugly. Photos to follow!

Abby says:

That chicken has a better life than me! Cant wait to see the beach pics and the Coyote Ugly pics!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
