bmusing











{June 27, 2011}   It’s more than a birthday…it’s a birth week!

I kicked off my birth week on Saturday with a hat-themed, all ladies birthday brunch at Rosebud. I think the photo below, from Blunt Card (my new favorite website), sums up the plan for the day:

There were twelve of us altogether and let me start by saying that the staff at Rosebud is just awesome.  We had two more people than anticipated (12 instead of 10), but even on a busy Saturday, they wrangled things around so that we could all fit and be accommodated at our original reservation time. Our waiter was awesome and just the right amount of attentive. The drinks were flowing freely, the food was amazing and boy-o-boy did our hats draw some attention. I’m pretty sure a good time was had by all. I certainly enjoyed it.

Group photo time -- we were still missing two ladies at this point. Thanks to RouxBarb for the photo!

Let me stop at this point to mention the fact that I have a lot of really awesome lady friends. It’s so nice to be surrounded by a group of strong, independent women in their 30s-40s-50s (mom). You should all be so lucky. I used to be one of those girls who had more guy friends than girlfriends and that was great in my twenties, but as we (women) grow up (and older), I think it’s super important to have a circle of girlfriends on whom you can depend (even if it’s just knowing that you can depend on them for a good time!).

I’ll spend the rest of my birth week celebrating with family (mom, dad and the nephews will come up on the actual day for some mexican and margaritas at my long-time favorite Los Loros); going to see one of my favorite authors, Karin Slaughter, with G at a book signing (nice of her to arrange the Atlanta leg of her tour for my birth week); getting the nephews overnight on Saturday (Atlanta History Center here we come!) and capping it off with anAtlanta Braves‘ home game on July 4 – complete with fireworks (again, nice of them to do that during my birth week).

And yes. I know that’s more than a week of activities, but birth week sounds so much better than birth nine days AND I don’t like math, remember?

So, thirty-four here I come. I’m rolling out all the stops to welcome you, so you better treat me right!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
