bmusing











{June 8, 2011}   Calling All Cardigans

Sorry I’ve been MIA lately. Things have been crazy. And by crazy, I mean I’m moving this weekend and have been spending every spare minute packing boxes. Now that the boxes are packed and I’m living in my apartment like it’s a hotel (no dishes that aren’t disposable, a suitcase full of clothes), I can take a deep breath and get ready for the upcoming change.

When I first moved back to Atlanta, I lived in Decatur. I loved it. It’s my speed and very much my style. Then G came along with a shoddy job (thanks to an asshat boss and a bad economy), so we moved to Vinings to be near his work. Bleh. Don’t get me wrong, I like Vinings well enough, but it’s no Decatur. And it’s FAR (read that with a very long whine on the “r”). Two weeks after we move, of course, G gets a new job out in Gwinnett, so it’s really, super, mega far. After two years of living FAR, I just couldn’t take it anymore and we’re moving back to Decatur.

My negotiating points were: 1) It will save G 20 miles a day; 2) It will save me 12 miles a day; 3) Decatur is greater; and 4) I won’t shut up until we move, so you may as well let me have my way. It wasn’t actually a hard sell, as G pretty much lets me have my way when it comes to habitat. I’m a VERY particular creature when it comes to where I will and won’t live and G could live in a box and be happy. After the ups and downs of apartment shopping in what is probably the most expensive apartment market in the history of the world ever, I found THE place. It’s right on the corner of the neighborhood that I want to live in for permanent one day (the same neighborhood, but not apartment complex, that I used to live in pre-G). It’s close to work. It’s close to my favorite Mexican restaurant (with the best margaritas). It’s close to some of my favorite peeps (RouxBarb, Carrie, I’m looking at you two). So, change into your favorite cardigan, Mr. Rogers. I’m going to be your neighbor.

Also, did I mention, it’s close to…G’s school!

That’s right folks, G has finally started school. I know I mentioned this a few blogs back, but it’s for real started now. He’s in class practically every day and cramming in homework between class and school and way to little sleep. Working 50 hours a week and going to school full time is going to be an intense challenge, but it’s been done before by others and I’m certain he’ll rock it out as soon as he gets back in the groove of school. Speaking of grooves, I’m certain I told Taye Diggs I needed to get my groove back, but he hasn’t shown up yet. Sigh. Back to my point. G’s in school and it’s exciting and OMG I am totally feeling OLD.

You see, I was a college freshman 16 years ago. We were only JUST getting computers on campus and no one really new much about the internet and email was something we had, but we didn’t know what to do with it. There were maybe six computers in the library if anyone wanted to type (instead of hand write) their papers, but that was it. Research was done in a library, with a card catalog and old, dusty books. Meanwhile in G’s first class, which is some kind of introduction to writing (I dunno for sure, it’s confusing as I skipped all of those early English classes and have no real frame of reference), takes place in a computer lab. This just doesn’t compute (ba dum dum, pun TOTALLY intended). My inability to grasp this simple concept makes me feel like a dinosaur. As if I should have a beard and a cane and liver spots and in a trembly voice be saying “when I was your age sonny, we had to walk to school in six feet of snow, uphill, both ways, backwards.” No bueno. I mean, I’ll be 34 in a couple of weeks, but I’m not 80.

Guess it’s time to get some fresh color (to cover those telltale greys), some new digs and a facial to rejuvinate my attitude. Thirty-four is the new twenty. Or better yet, thirty-four is the new thirty-four and thirty-four is awesome damn it.

rouxbarb says:

OMG. Love this post…what we were just talking about with the new-fangled computer labs a billion years ago! Thirty-four IS awesome. Let’s pretend I’m 34, too.



Carrie says:

a) I love cardigans!
b) I love new neighbors! (and so honored to be considered a neighbor despite my OTP status)
c) I want to be 34 too please! But seriously, we are in our primes here, ladies.
d) according to Barb’s countdown-o-meter, 459 minutes till Bhojanic. 🙂



fairbetty says:

Yay for moving to a neighborhood you like! Now if only it were down the street from me… sigh. Missing you! And remembering those computers in the library at YHC… and researching in the giant dusty OED on the pedestal right next to them 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
