bmusing











{May 6, 2011}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 44

You know, sometimes it’s better to just leave a recipe as it is instead of substituting ingredients you already have in the pantry.

I’ve never made lentils before and decided that this week was the week to try it. I found a recipe on Cooking Light for Lentil Salad with Feta Cheese. Now, the recipe calls for feta, but I already had goat cheese in the fridge. It also calls for dried time and I only had oregano. So, I substituted. I shouldn’t have. What I ended up with was good, but not the great that it could have been if I had used the right ingredients.

So, I, notorious recipe tweaker will admit that sometimes, a recipe is just right as it is.

That being said, please note that unlike the recipe, you should absolutely chill the lentils after they cook before you add in the rest of the ingredients. It’s crucial. Wish I had…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
