bmusing











{April 26, 2011}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 43 (the one where she f’s up)

After gorging on delicious eats this past weekend when G and I went to Savannah for our anniversary, I made a run to the grocery to prepare for a week of healthy eating. En route, I decided that I wanted to make a soup. So, in my head I hodgepodged together a recipe from several different soups and thought myself a genius. The following is what happens when a genius f’s up.

I get home, chop up some onion and garlic and get it sweating in my soup pot with some sea salt, cracked pepper, cumin and smoked paprika. So far, so good. I slice up some turkey kielbasa and some baby bellas and add them to the pot. Yum. In go two Ugly Heirloom tomatoes roughly chopped, one can of black beans (strained and rinsed) and one can of cannellini beans (strained and rinsed). You’re with me so far, right? Everything looks good. And then….I add WAY TOO MUCH BROTH. Only I don’t know it yet.

I let the soup cook and I think, hey, that looks a little thin. So, I take my stick blender to it and blend it halfway. Still looks thin, but now it has odd lumps. Then I blend it all the way. Now it’s thin and grainy. Hrm…OH, I know. I’ll add broken up whole wheat angel hair. Done. Cooked. Yeah…maybe I should have broken it to pieces that fit on a spoon since this is soup and all. Too late.

So, I ended up with a soup that tastes good, but has a strange texture and is awkward to eat. Win? Lose? Dunno. But at least I wasn’t hungry after I ate it.

fairbetty says:

At least it tasted good 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
