bmusing











{March 25, 2011}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week 38

I know. Week 37 is missing. It’s time I let you in on a little secret. You see, for the last month or so, my boss has been out of the office for personal reasons. This means that I have been thrown into the deep end of trying to do a two person job (and learning how to do half of it). It’s made cooking a low priority and left almost no time for updating you folks. I feel like I’m finally starting to get the hang of things, so hopefully I’ll be up and running on a regular schedule of posts and edible experiments soon.

In the meantime, it was BFF Lauren’s birthday this week. As I’ve mentioned she’s adhering to the Clean Food movement (no processed sugar and no white flour). So, for her work birthday party I wanted to make a treat she could eat and not feel guilty about. I bought a Clean Food cookbook and found this recipe: Mixed Berry Couscous Cake.

Cake isn’t exactly the right way to describe it. BFF Lauren, RouxBarb and I all three bandied about different terms (cheesecake? bread pudding? polenta-esque?). Whatever you want to call it, it’s served cold, slices like a cake, is sweet (from fruit juice and maple syrup) and dense and pretty darn good. I can’t see it replacing cake in my world, but it’s a good alternative when you want something high fiber and healthy.

b

Leave a Reply

et cetera
