bmusing











{February 7, 2011}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week 32

I never thought this day would come, but here it is. Sigh. I am dieting. Now, I don’t mean a fad diet or South Beach or anything crazy like that. I’m just trying to be more sensible. And stop bad snacking. And stop drinking calories. And exercise. Yeah, exercise. Stupid mortal enemy always finds a way to get back into my life (grumble grumble grumble).

Don’t worry, though. This won’t affect you. Why not? Well, because I am still eating sensible and healthy dinners (we all know I’m obsessed with Cooking Light) AND because I get a cheat day every week so you can still expect some decadent dishes thrown in the mix.

To that end G and I were trying to think of a healthy dessert that we could keep around the house (in lieu of the homemade ice cream and cookies and such that we normally indulge in). G had the idea of frozen yogurt and I started searching the internet. I ended up on Yogurt Everyday’s recipe page and picked Honey-Lemon Frozen Yogurt.

Now, we all know I’m a fan of tweaking recipes so I substituted 2 cups of 0% fat plain Greek yogurt for the 2 cups whole milk plain yogurt that they call for in the recipe. So basically my yogurt is just as delicious as theirs, but has less fat and more protein (go Greek yogurt go!). This frozen yogurt tasted so good we could hardly keep our fingers out of the machine while it was churning. I mean, for realz. This stuff is deliciously tart with great texture and a subtle sweetness that had me just over the moon last night while watching the Green Bay Packers win the Super Bowl (I cheered for the Packers because I like cheese).

Now, here’s a bonus recipe. Saturday night co-BFF Abby, super fun friend Jessica and I met up at Abby’s house to play with her new Xbox Kinect and her adorable bunny Henry. Our secret agenda, however, was to attempt to duplicate Murphy’s recipe for Brussels Sprouts. I think we did a pretty good job:

Operation Brussels Sprouts

1 Bag of Brussels Sprouts
1 Orange
4 cloves of garlic
2 tbs olive oil
2 tsp soy sauce
salt/pepper

Wash and halve the sprouts and place in roasting pan. Then zest the orange. Toss the sprouts with zest from the orange, juice from half orange, olive oil, soy sauce, garlic cloves salt, and pepper.Place in the oven at 425 for 45 mins stirring once. Once you remove sprouts from the oven, squeeze the other half of the orange over them and toss to coat.

These sprouts ended up super delicious. We used the exact same ingredients (minus the garlic) on some tilapia that we baked at the same temp for ten minutes. The fish was served on top of the sprouts. This dish was yummy and healthy!

Enjoy and wish me luck!

rouxbarb says:

That Brussels sprouts recipe looks awesome! I’m totally going to try that. Extremely jealous about the yogurt, but I don’t have a machine and it’s probably better that way…



Sounds so simple and delicious! Healthy too.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
