bmusing











{February 3, 2011}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 31

A couple of weeks ago I got an email from Martha Stewart. Although it did not include any stock tips, it did include a host of delicious fish recipes. As you can imagine I copied several recipes into my database, but I was particularly struck by Seared Salmon with Mustard-Caper Butter. Stop the presses! Could this possibly be a recipe that I don’t have to tweak? I mean, I am pretty much in love with every single ingredient. Wow.

So Monday night rolls around and when G strolls in from work around 1:30 am he has a bag full of individually wrapped/frozen salmon fillets that he purchased at work. Score. The cut/quality of this restaurant grade salmon is so much better than what I can get in the grocery store. My half-asleep little brain immediately decided we’d be having Martha’s salmon on Wednesday (G’s day off this week). As it happened, I was chatting with so much fun friend Mandy the next day about Brussels sprouts (obsessed, much?) and she gave me her favorite recipe for making them. A menu is born!

I was looking forward to cooking this meal all day yesterday. It was going to be awesome. I stopped at the grocery on the way home and got the bits and pieces that I didn’t already have in the pantry (sprouts, potatoes and a lemon) and then woosh! The wind went right out of my sails and I no longer felt like cooking. Shit. So, my sous chef had to step up and be the chef. Geoff made Martha’s salmon (recipe above) and Mandy’s Potato/Sprouts (recipe below as I interpreted it, which is probably different than how Mandy actually makes it) and some Fat Boy Bread (nickname courtesy of BFF Lauren) all while I lounged on the couch watching Season Four of 30 Rock (my new entertainment obsession).

It was delicious. Super delicious. Amazing even. I would eat both things again multiple times. Here is what it looked like:

Mmmmmmm.....

Mandy’s Super Delicious Brussels Sprouts with Potatoes

Brussels Sprouts (enough for however many peeps you are having over for dinner)
Red Potatoes (same as above)
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Juice of Half a Lemon

1) Wash, trim and halve Brussels Sprouts. Wash and quarter red potatoes.
2) Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and spread evenly on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil (for easy clean-up).
3) Bake in a 425 degree oven for 45 minutes, stirring once.
4) Remove from oven and squeeze the juice of 1/2 lemon over the sprouts/potatoes.
5) Toss and serve.

fairbetty says:

Let it be known that I thoroughly despise brussels sprouts… but that recipe makes me think I might need to reconsider… Also, I never used to eat fish (I do now, occasionally, though I’m mostly vegetarian), but that salmon looks AMAZING… yum! I’m hungry!



rouxbarb says:

I just got a salad with salmon on it from Wilma. I feel certain it won’t be 1/10 as delicious. EAT MORE FISH 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
