bmusing











{January 19, 2011}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 29

Now that the snow is (mostly) melted, I am really trying to make an effort to get back into the normal swing of things. That means cooking and trying new recipes and telling you all about them. To that end I made North Woods Bean Soup last night. It was from Cooking Light (shocking, I know). And it was fantastic. Like, it will make it into my repertoire of staples, fantastic, which is saying A LOT. You see, I try lots of soup recipes. I even like some of them, but to make it into my regular rotation you have to be super special (and sort of easy, cause I’m a busy girl and all, you know?). Plus, G has to like it. Like, like it, like it.

So, why does this soup hit all of the marks? Let’s start with the fact that it’s easy. A little chopping, a little sauteing, a little simmering, a little stick blending, a little wilting and voila! Ok. Ok. I get that it doesn’t sound easy, but it is. And it’s quick. As in, start to finish in 30-40 minutes quick. That’s fast for a soup which ends up having such deep flavors. Mark two: I only had to substitute one ingredient. The recipe calls for carrots and I highly dislike cooked carrots. I used parsnips instead, which I love (this is a new relationship, but so far we don’t even argue). Thirdly, it’s hearty. Although I served it with cornbread muffins, they were gratuitous because the soup itself (what with all of the beans and turkey sausage) was really filling. Next mark? I got to use my stick blender. You know I love my stick blender. And finally, it has fresh spinach in it! That’s important for those of us who are constantly anemic. Oh, yeah and did I mention it tastes good?

So, hurray for a good new recipe that I will definitely make again! And hurray for being back on track and no longer being snowed in and spending my days glaring out the window, mumbling curses at the snow.

fairbetty says:

FYI, I mentioned you on my cheesy little blog award post. Because I think you’re awesome.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
