bmusing











{January 14, 2011}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 28

As I type I have Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream agitating in my Cuisinart ice cream maker. I stuck my finger in the custard mix and O-M-F-G it is GOOD. I even have a cup of chopped up Reese’ cups to add end just before it’s finished. I can’t wait to try this treat out on my nephews tomorrow. They even get to spend the night this time. I’ve been practicing my Mario Kart.

Also this week I made Turnip Greens for the first time. Now, I grew up on old fashioned, southern style, cook it all day with a ham hock collard greens. This past weekend I was looking for something a bit….quicker. G was making his totally rockin, should be famous Salmon with Dill Butter and I was in charge of the sides. We decided on steamed corn and turnip greens. I infused a bit of olive oil with garlic and sauteed the greens in said oil with red wine vinegar and a tablespoon of sugar until they were just past wilted. I was hugely pleased. And, as a most of the time anemic it was great for me to learn how to make such an easy and iron filled dish!

Now onto the important stuff – I’ve been snowed in for nearly a week, like most of the rest of Atlanta. I hate snow. I have always hated snow. Just like I hate the cold. I was born to live on a beach near the equator. I also, it turns out, have major panic issues when it comes to me or loved ones driving on ice. It’s been a rough week. I still won’t drive out of my neighborhood alone (they have one end caution taped off because there are so many abandoned cars). I’ve been using beer and wine as Xanax to keep myself from throwing up every time G walks out the door for work. We’ve watched lots of Bones and done a huge amount of walking in the snow (the three mile round trip to Publix has been our most frequent route). I can’t wait until this shit is gone. CAN’T WAIT. CAN’T.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
