bmusing











{January 4, 2011}   33 Years In the Kitchen – MIA

Yes, I realize I haven’t posted any new recipes in the last two weeks. My excuse is that I was totally sick over Christmas and as a result tried to stay out of the kitchen to prevent my plague from spreading.

I did make a couple of new things.

1) Good friend Laura and I tried a new recipe out of the Cooking Light Cookbook she gave me for Christmas (excellent present), but it was for a family dinner she was having the next day so I don’t actually know how it turned out. It smelled really good. The raw batter tasted good. The glaze tasted good. Let’s cut a girl some slack and call it 33 Years in the Kitchen – Missing Week 25. Maybe Laura will comment and tell us how the Warm Gingerbread with Lemon Glaze turned out?

2) Because I was still recovering from said plague and not up to going out proper, G and I had a couple of good friends over on NYE to drink, snack and play the Wii (more to come on the Wii later). I bought a bunch of appetizers from Trader Joe’s (they were out of my favorite, the goat cheese and caramelized onion puff pastry tarts, wtf?) and then made a quick cheese dip that involved 1 block Velveeta, melted; 1 can refried beans and 1 can diced tomatoes with olive oil and garlic. I drained the tomatoes and mixed them with the other ingredients in a crock pot and it was heavenly. So, we’re going to call that 33 Years in the Kitchen – Missing Week 26.

Now, I promise to get back on track this week. I don’t know what I’m going to make yet, but I’m confident it will be amazing.

Laura says:

The Warm Gingerbread with Lemon Glaze turned out wonderfully! The lemon glaze kept the cake super moist and toned down the gingerbread flavor so it wasn’t overpowering. Everyone enjoyed it and I can’t thank you enough for making it with/for me!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
