bmusing











{December 5, 2010}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 22

A few weeks ago I found a lovely surprise in the envelope of my credit card statement (I know, I know, that sounds counter-intuitive) – a booklet saying I had a ton of credit card points and a link to a site where I could redeem them. Sweet! I didn’t even know I had credit card points.

While browsing through the online catalog I kept returning to the same entry over and over again: the 1 1/2 quart Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. Hrm…ice cream, eh? I DO love ice cream. I DID grow up eating homemade ice cream. This might just be the thing for me. So I ordered it, it arrived, I made ice cream and boy am I happy!

I figured plain old vanilla would be the best for a first experiment (and my folks were coming over and Dad is partial to vanilla) so I Googled “Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe.” I’m not sure where I found this one, but it was super easy and quick and way delicious.

Simple Vanilla Ice cream

1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 1/8 cups sugar
3 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla extract

Mix milk and sugar on low speed with a hand mixer. Add in the cream and vanilla and mix briefly. Pour mix into ice cream maker and voila, ice cream.

Mom, Dad, G and I all enjoyed this simple treat and I will SO be making ice cream more often. I’ve already spied some lovely recipes on the Cooking Light website, so get ready for some frosty deliciousness in the future.

Abby says:

Yay! We need a winter themed flavor!



bmd238 says:

I’m making salted caramel next week, but I did find a peppermint recipe too!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
