bmusing











{November 14, 2010}   33 Years In the Kitchen – Week 20

G and I had a rare day off together today (and by rare, I mean this is the first day we have both been off since our vacation in September). So, after a lovely brunch of blueberry pancakes, maple sausage and mimosas and several hours of lounging on the couch, we decided to head to the grocery and gather the ingredients for some soup.

Instead of reaching for my trusty accordian file, I reached for my laptop. You see, I recently upgraded my version of FileMaker Pro to work on Marti (the Macbook) and transferred all of my paper recipes to my homemade FileMaker database. After flipping through a few entries, we came upon one from Cooking Light that sounded good for a rainy Sunday evening: Chicken and Wild Rice Soup. We added a little crusty bread and voila, dinner.

Overall this was a super delicious, hearty soup. I did feel that the potato was a bit redundant, though. So, next time I’ll leave it out.

After dinner we may or may not have whipped up a tasty, savory treat for RouxBarb’s upcoming birthday. Time will tell šŸ˜‰

rouxbarb says:

Mmmmmmmmmm. If only the savory treat could be accompanied by some of those mimosas šŸ˜‰



Leave a Reply

et cetera
