bmusing











{November 6, 2010}   Old Faithful – More Than Just A Geiser

I’ve really been enjoying trying so many new recipes lately, but sometimes all you really want is a belly full of of a warm, delicious, old-faithful. That’s how I’m feeling tonight. It’s cold. And this time, I don’t just mean 65 and brrrr I’m cold, but for real cold. Like, it’s supposed to be 29 tonight. Yuck.

So, I’m making chicken and dumplings. This is one of my stock recipes. One of my favorite recipes. It’s bubbling away on the stove right now. I can’t wait to dig in. Here’s my recipe, which is super simple, but completely amazing:

1 rotisserie chicken, shredded (I prefer barbeque flavor)
1 onion, chopped
2 small cloves garlic
1 tablespoon fresh time
2 boxes Pacific brand organic chicken broth (brand is very important in this recipe)
2 tablespoons butter
salt and pepper to taste
bisquick
buttermilk

Melt butter in soup pot. Add onions, garlic, salt and pepper and saute until onions are soft. Add chicken stock, thyme and chicken. Bring to a boil.

While you are waiting for the liquid to boil, make dumplings according to box recipes substituting 3/4 cup buttermilk for the 2/3 cup milk.

When broth is boiling, drop dumpling dough in by spoonfulls into the pot. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes. Put lid on pot and cook for ten more minutes.

Remove from heat and stir, scraping any bits from the bottom.

bmd238 says:

I should also admit that I burn my mouth every time I make this, because I lack the ability to let it cool down before chomping on a dumpling. Mmmm….and OW!



Carrie says:

Ha! That is the best endorsement for a recipe ever. This is going in my to-make pile, immediately.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
