bmusing











{October 11, 2010}   An apron by any other name…is a potholder

You thought I’d forgotten. I hadn’t. I’ve just been busy.

Sometime last week (or maybe even the week before, I am s.l.a.c.k.) I went fabric shopping on a whim before book club. It was an auspicious day – Joann’s was having a sale! I found two red and white based, old-fashioned fabrics that will make a glorious apron for just $3 a yard. And then I saw it. Blue and white based San Francisco fabric. It was kismet. I had just been thinking earlier that day that I should make an apron for good friend Lauren who married her lovely wife Melissa in San Francisco. I needed that fabric. Needed it. And at $3 a yard, I got it. And then some.

Bursting with excitement I blab all about my fabric find to Lauren who says, “I love aprons. I’ve even bought a few, but I never wear them, and now I don’t even have a cute place to hang one. You’re a crafty gal, Bethie, I’m sure you can come up with a fantastical use for said fabric.” Hrm. Stumped. What am I going to make out of three yards of fabric? Not a clue. Not one. Really.

That weekend I head out to Dr. Bombay’s Underwater Tea Party with fun friend Jessica. We had a lovely afternoon tea, which was only slightly marred by the overly heavy sweet to savory ration on our tea board. Chocolate overload much? I wanted pimento cheese and chicken salad, drat!! On the way to the car this cute little kitsch shop caught my eye. What’s that in the window? Why, it’s art by high school chum and painter extraordinaire Tim Boyd. We had to go in. After looking at (and coveting) several pieces of Tim’s whimsical, yet satirical work Lady Fate whacked me across the face with a hand made potholder. That’s right. A potholder. And just when I was wondering what to make with all that San Francisco fabric that Lauren and Melissa might like and use. Ta-freaking-da. I expect we’ll be using said items at the next meeting of the Gay-Straight Alliance.

So in addition to experimenting with aprons, I’m going to experiment with pot holders and place mats. I already know how I’m going to do it. All I need is some interfacing, some cotton batting, some edging ribbon and a quilting needle. Oh, and did I mention this lamp? (if you don’t get that reference, we’re probably not going to make it as friends)

I have a plan. I am inspired. Autobots, roll out.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
