bmusing











{October 5, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Fourteen, Part Two

I promised you an extra recipe this week to make up for not posting a recipe last week. However, I can’t take all of the credit. I was supposed to pick out a recipe last night to make for G tonight. Sounds simple, right? But you see, it so happens that there were a horde of miniature, pitchfork-wielding gnomes inside my uterus last night trying to force their way out of my body. Needless to say, I could do no more than lie on the couch and moan while watching reruns of NCIS all night (DiNozzo! Thwap!!!!).

I was no better this morning. The reprehensible midgets had disappeared at some point during the night, but the routine (but fixed today I hope) high-pitched squeal from my neighbors pipes kept me up all morning; so I was pretty much a walking zombie. This meant that G was left with the task of choosing a recipe from the binder, procuring the ingredients and co-cooking with me tonight.

He chose Maple-Mustard Pork Chops with Winter Squash Puree from Cooking Light.I served as sous chef and side dish maker for the evening and it turned out 50/50. The Winter Squash Puree recipe was a disaster. Why would anyone use frozen butternut squash puree anyway? It tasted like warm, stale water. Ew. Gross. However, the pork chops and resultant sauce were tasty. And it sure looked pretty. Because of said prettiness I am providing you with a photo from my phone of our actual food, instead of the usual stylized stock photo from the magazine.

Abby says:

It does look pretty even if the squash thing was bleh



rouxbarb says:

Lovely! I especially like the plate, which I recognize as having served me brownies before.

Trader Joe’s has squash hunks all prepped and ready. Just roast and mash. Should you decide to try a similar dish again, you might want to give that a try. Takes out a bit of the work.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
