bmusing











{September 25, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Twelve or Fish Out of Water

So, I know that there hasn’t been a recipe this week. It’s not my fault. I promise. Here’s how it happened.

This week G and I went on our long planned, long anticipated beach vacation to Destin. Since we booked the trip about 6-8 months ago, you know I’ve been planning. I found a lovely little one bedroom condo with my very own kitchen.  My theory was that we could go out three nights and cook together three nights (that’s three brand spanking new recipes, people).  In the days before the trip G and I picked out three recipes — a pasta, a poultry and a pork — packed them in my backpack and to he beach we went.  And then…the kitchen. If you could call it a kitchen. It looked like a kitchen. Had a sink and stove and fridge and dishwasher like a kitchen, but it didn’t have any PANS like a kitchen. W.T.F.??? It advertised full kitchen. It advertised a blender (which it had, but it was broken). How was I going to make new recipes with no dishes? Shit. So instead, I drank a LOT of margaritas and we ate out and lounged at the beach and saw sea turtles while flying through the air and watched dolphins from a boat and it was awesome.

So, you see, it’s totally not my fault. It was false advertising’s fault. I’m sure you have guessed by now that on our last day I sent both the condo owner and the company who we worked through a strongly worded letter.  I even spell checked it, as I had had a lot of margaritas.

I’ll make it up to you. I will.  But in the meantime, here are some photos from the trip:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=213287&id=558288753&l=20f1a786e4

Leave a Reply

et cetera
