bmusing











{September 13, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Eleven

“Damn it feels good to be a gangsta/I mean one that you don’t really know/Ridin’ around town in a drop-top Benz/Hittin’ switches in my black six-fo’”

And by “gangsta,” I obviously mean a member of the Russian Mafia. And by member of the Russian Mafia, I mean a girl who made Stroganoff last night. Cooking Light’s version of Stroganoff, that is. Does that make me a Cooking Light Gangsta? I say it does. I’m a meat cleaver packing member of the CLG. Don’t mess with me.

And now back to your regularly scheduled programming. (Yes, that’s  Monty Python reference)

This week’s recipe comes to you again from Cooking Light: Chicken Stroganoff Pasta.  Super-fun Leslie came over last night to reacquaint herself with the kitties – Queen Imogen the Curvaceous, Chester aka “Chesbo” of the Tripod Clan and G’s weirdo kitty Micah the Cornish Rex. Leslie will be checking in on the furry multitudes while G and I are at the beach next week.  And of course, this seemed like the perfect opportunity for me to try out a new recipe.

Out came the accordion file and this time, the poultry section. I was feeling chicken. Flip. Flip. Eh. Eh. Flip. Flip. Eureka!  Chicken Stroganoff, eh? That would be a huge leap forward in my secret plot to transform all beef dishes into poultry dishes.

“What are we doing tonight, Beth?” asks the recipe binder.

“Same thing we do every night, Binder. Try to take over the beefy world!” I reply.

(Insert diabolical laugh here a la Pinky and the Brain.)

Where was I? Ah, yes. The recipe was straight forward enough. Leslie’s not a big fan of mushrooms, so I just sautéed those up separately to be added to individual dishes as desired. To make up for the loss of body that making the mushrooms optional caused I added half a packet of pencil asparagus stemmed and chopped into two inch pieces.  Also, I used smoked paprika, instead of regular paprika, because that’s what I had. When I tasted the sauce near the end it was lacking a little something, so I added some garlic salt which really helped. I think next time I’ll throw some actual garlic into the mix.

Leslie and I both enjoyed it hot from the pan last night and followed it up with Leslie’s Pecan Bars generously accompanied by vanilla ice cream. Geoff scarfed some stroganoff down for lunch today heated up in the microwave and claims to have liked it too. You can find the recipe here: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1599613

Obviously I’m feeling a little strange and multiple personality-esque today, so just for kicks:

rouxbarb says:

OK, I was about to throw up because beef stroganoff is one of the very few foods that made me cry as a child. Man do I hate it. But then…chicken? Yum! It started to go back down hill with the whole no mushrooms thing. Mushrooms = good. But asparagus = BETTER! Also, anyone who can talk about stroganoff anything and make me laugh at the same time gets MAD points.



bmd238 says:

I’m a HUGE mushroom fan myself. So I sauteed some up in a pan with a smidge of olive oil and salt and tossed them into my portion before eating. Mushrooms + asparagus = happy!



fairbetty says:

I’m totally going to try this! Except that I will leave out the meat altogether… because… well… of the not eating meat thing. Yum.

Great old school vid, too. I ❤ you!



Leslie M. says:

I completely enjoyed this dish (sans mushrooms) and have to say the pencil asparagus was my favorite asparagus application to date! I’ve only had asparagus 3, maybe 4 times, and was hoping some dish with it would wow me. I’m officially a fan now. Thanks again for dinner, it was deeeelish! Oh, and this is one badass motherf’ing song. Clearly you’re an Ol’ G. 😉



Leave a Reply

et cetera
