bmusing











{September 9, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Ten

Photo courtesy of Cooking Light

It was my turn to cook last night and the only chance I’d have this week to try a new recipe. The previous evening, racked with guilt over cheating on Cooking Light last week, I was determined to be faithful again. Since Geoff had made his version of Comfort Food earlier that evening, I felt obliged to return the favor. Out came my trusty accordion file and then the section on pasta (anything pasta spells comfort for this carb lover). And there it was: Fettuccine Alfredo with Bacon. Yes!

Here’s the recipe: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1949744

Immediately my mind began to tweak the recipe. Wouldn’t this be even better with sliced, sautéed baby bellas? Shouldn’t I use whole wheat linguine to make it even healthier? Yes and yes. And boy was I right. I have long been a lover of Alfredo sauce. I have also long avoided it because of the indulgently high fat content. Now that I have this recipe, though, I can enjoy the occasional bacon-y, mushroom-y, creamy goodness in my very own home with very little guilt. Yay!

I hope you guys enjoy it as much as I (and my trusty sous chef) did!!!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
