bmusing











{September 7, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Six

Photo courtesy of Cooking Light

Originally published August 11, 2010 on Facebook

By now you’re probably thinking that I’m obsessed with Cooking Light. You wouldn’t be wrong. And to prove it, this week’s recipe is yet another Cooking Light find: Cavatappi with Bacon and Summer Vegetables.

Cavatappi is my absolute favorite pasta shape for any sort of pasta salad or super chunky warm pasta. It really holds it’s own against large pieces. I was intrigued by this recipe because I had never associated pasta and corn before. Hrm…that just might be delicious. And delicious it was!

Now, you guys all know by now that I’m a recipe tweaker and I really just couldn’t resist tweaking this recipe just a smidge. I added the juice of half as mall lime for brightness and 1/4 cup reserved pasta water to help the flavors from the veggies cling to the pasta just a bit better.

Here’s the original recipe:http://www.cookinglight.com/food/quick-healthy/quick-easy-italian-recipes-00400000056792/page18.html

As a side note (or bottom note in this case) I also made a blueberry pie last night. This was my first time making blueberry pie and I turned to my good friend (and expert pie maker) Lauren Gilstrap for a recipe. What I liked most about this recipe is that it was filled with rough measures and lots of”or whatever you want to adds.” Here’s a quick rundown (it makes two pies):

5-6 cups blueberries (i used 6)
6-7 heaping tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 cup sugar
cinnamon to taste
allspice to taste (i didn’t have any, so it got left out this time)
zest of one lemon and one lime
juice of one orange and one lemon
4 pie crusts (homemade, purchased, frozen however you like to play it, I did a frozen pie plate crust for the bottom and refrigerated pie crust for the top)

Mix all dry ingredients together and toss with blueberries. Add juice/zest and toss to coat. Fill pie crusts with mixture. Put on top crust and crimp to seal with bottom crust. At this point I added an egg wash and a light sprinkling of sugar for a pretty finish. Pop the pies in a 375 degree oven for one hour. Cool for 30 minutes before slicing to allow the pie to set.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
