bmusing











{September 7, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Seven

Photo courtesy of Cooking Light

Originally published August 7, 2010 on Facebook

I’m starting to think that perhaps Cooking Light should pay me for my advertorial services. Which should tip you off that this week’s recipe comes, yet again, from…Cooking Light! This time, I swear, it’s not my fault. It’s all Mandy’s fault. Last week she shot me an IM on Gmail suggesting Pepper Jack, Chicken, and Peach Quesadillas as a good option for my project. Now, I’m allergic to peppers and chilies, but that wasn’t a deterrent at all. I mean, it practically forced me to tweak the recipe.

Excited to try something new, I go out and buy all the ingredients, but this time my favorite guinea pig was stubbornly unwilling. Shoot. What am I going to do? What I always do, of course — turn to my amazing lady friends for help. And voila! Erin MacKinzie-Grass to the rescue. You can find the recipe here: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=2001878

And here are my tweaks: I used pepper jack cheese for Erin, but regular “mexican blend” for myself to avoid mass consumption of Benadryl. I also used flat-leaf parsley instead of cilantro, because I hate cilantro.

Erin seemed to really enjoy hers. Mine was really nothing special, bordering on too sweet. I think this recipe really needs the spice of the pepper jack to work. So, if you’re not a freak of nature and can freely eat peppers, I’d recommend you try this recipe. The only tweak I didn’t make, that I wish I had, is that I would have chopped the peaches into bite size pieces to make the quesadilla’s a bit less unwieldy.

I did, however, LOVE the honey-lime sour cream. I intend to use it again with future quesadilla’s (like that one with paprika roasted corn, mmmmmmmmm).

Now, on a side note, may I brag for a moment? Of course I may. I have recently had more time on my hands than I am used to, so I decided to go through every food magazine in my house ripping out the delish sounding recipes. I then organized all of these torn out pages into a divided and labeled accordion file. 33 Years in the Kitchen is going (semi) high-tech!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
