bmusing











{September 7, 2010}   33 Years in the Kitchen – Week Five

Photo courtesy of Cooking Light

Originally published August 6, 2010 on Facebook

I know what you’re thinking. What happened to week four? Well, life happened. However, I am fully prepared to make it up to you by including one of my very favorite tried and true recipes at the end of this note in addition to the regular weekly recipe. Forgive me? Good. Now on to week five.

This week Cooking Light sent me and email promising easy summer recipes and I decided that Thursday night would be a good time to try one. Now, this has been a pretty rough week, and I’ve been working really hard, and I’m tired and blah blah blah all of a sudden it was Thursday night and I really didn’t want to stop by the grocery and then go home to cook. So I decided to call for back up. I left work and called Geoff and invited him to be my grocery store partner/sous chef. I may or may not have whined a little. He agreed.

When I first read the recipe (and comments) for Summer Squash Soup with Pasta and Parmesan it seemed a little too light for a main course. So, being the recipe tweaking control freak that I am, I decided to buy a rotisserie chicken and add some chicken to the soup. I figured I could use the rest to make some fabulous chicken salad. I had a plan. It turned out pretty darn good, too. The flavor was still very light and delicate, but the end result was a soup that tasted quite light, but was very hunger satisfying. See for yourself: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1809036

Now, as promised, a tried and true to make the missing Week 4 up to you — Pimento Cheese. I got this recipe from my friend Erin, who got it from Southern Living. I, of course, tweaked it. Shocking.

8 oz Sharp Cheddar Cheese, shredded medium
8 oz Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese, shredded finely
1 large jar (not the tiny baby jar) diced pimentos, drained
8 oz Cream Cheese, room temperature
2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
3/4 Cup Mayonaise

* For an extra twist, add 1/2 the amount of pimentos and then add the same amount of diced green olives.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
