bmusing











{October 17, 2008}   Once lost, can faith be found?

Originally published December 25, 2007

Where does faith come from – faith in people, faith in god, faith in ourselves? But more importantly, once lost, can it be found?

These are the questions I struggle with on a daily basis. I was once so full of faith in all of the facets mentioned above. As I traveled down the winding path that has been my life, my faith slowly eroded and then, somewhere along the way, I lost it all together – first in others, then in god and finally in myself. My spirit withered in my body and went into hiding.

And then something happened. I shed the skin of my old life and slowly, tentatively began a new chapter. That essential part of me crawled out from her hiding place.

The last two years have been a beautiful exercise in rediscovery – figuring out who I am, what I want and who I want to be. To some degree I have, through trial by fire in a myriad of circumstances, begun to believe in myself again. God and I are slowly coming to an understanding – although it is neither by the same name nor within the same framework under which we previously interacted. Finding the strength within myself to have faith in others is proving the trickiest of the three.

It again begs the question:

Once lost, can faith be found?

The answer:

I hope so, but I can’t say for certain.

Laura says:

The Bible tells us that faith comes from hearing, and hearing from the word of God. Romans 10:17. It is only through God’s Word that faith comes and it is only through His Word that the ability to hear from Him comes. I pray that God will revela Himself to you in a new and living way! Blessings, Laura



Leave a Reply

et cetera
